Checkout
Welcome to Dream of Things, an independent book publisher and online book store. Get a 25% discount on all books by using coupon code "dream" at checkout -- and shipping within the continental United States is just $4.95 for any size order.
She's Not Herself
Price: $14.00
Price: $17.00
Price: $12.50
Betty's Child

Betty's Child

Your Price: $17.00
Author: Donald R. Dempsey 
Trade Paperback 
436 Pages 
ISBN 978-0988439018 

A Hoffer Award Grand Prize Finalist

"Heartrending and humorous. In scene after vivid scene, Dempsey presents his inspiring true story with accomplished style. Dempsey's discipline as a writer lends the real-life tale the feel of a fictional page-turner." Kirkus Reviews 

"Honest and raw, yet full of humor, pathos, and no-holds-barred dialogue. Fasten your seat belt and get ready for a roller coaster ride. Highly recommended." Dr. Alan Gettis, Ph.D., clinical psychologist and author of The Happiness Solution 

"This memoir is for everyone who has ever known someone abandoned, someone unloved, someone with barriers that seem impenetrable. With wit and delicacy, Dempsey exposes wounds that we would prefer to ignore, without ever pushing the reader away with any sense of melodrama. A truly unforgettable memoir." San Francisco Book Review 

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela's Ashes, Donald Dempsey chronicles one boy's ordeals with poverty, religion, and physical and mental abuse as he attempts to come of age with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. 

Twelve-year-old Donny is a real-life cross between Huckleberry Finn and Holden Caulfield. Donny is doing his best to navigate the world he shares with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother's abusive boyfriends, churchgoers who want to save Donny's soul, and a best friend who wants Donny to go to work for a dangerous local thug doing petty theft and dealing drugs. 

Donny does everything he can to take care of himself and his younger brothers, but with each new development, the present becomes more fraught with peril--and the future more uncertain. 

To read the entire review from Kirkus, click HERE.

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items